About Eric Schumacher

Behind The Books

Eric Schumacher

Hello and welcome! My name is Eric Schumacher and I am the author of six Amazon best-selling novels and one novella set in the Viking Age. By day, I am a brand storyteller and PR consultant for early stage video game and tech companies. By night, I wander into the past, using known history and ancient tales to create stories about people living in turbulent times.

I was born and raised in Los Angeles, hardly the epicenter of medieval history. Yet even from the earliest age, I can remember devouring books about castles and warrior kings and Tolkien’s Middle Earth, or playing Dungeons & Dragons late into the night. That fascination, coupled with a love of writing, led me to the completion of Hakon’s Saga, a Viking historical fiction series set in 10th-century Norway. The novels, which are published by Legionary Books (an imprint of Next Chapter Publishing), tell the story of the young Norwegian king, Hakon Haraldsson (or Hakon the Good) and his struggles to win, unify and protect what was not yet then Norway.

I am now hard at work on a series about the notorious Viking, Olaf Tryggvason. The first novel in Olaf’s Saga, Forged by Iron, was published in the spring of 2020. The second novel, Sigurd’s Swords, launched in June 2021. My third novel, Wolves of Wagria, was released in November of 2022. A fourth book is in the works.

I frequently share information about my writing, special offers, or interesting topics from history. To follow along, visit me at the links below or join my Readers Club.

You can also send me an email by heading to my Contact page.

Eric Schumacher

Follow Eric